“I cannot fathom what kind of freaks the Triple Crown champions were.”

So said Jockey Kent Desormeaux after Big Brown’s disappointing run in the Belmont stakes yesterday. It’s been 30 years since a horse won racing’s Triple Crown — the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes. But it wasn’t always so. In the 1970s, there were three Triple Crown Winners! In 1978, Affirmed stuck a nose […]

Read More